Bits of Life

Long time ago

Posted on: February 11, 2017

Haven’t written for quite a while.  But Thursday and Friday brought many thoughts to my mind.  Went to book club to discuss “Woman in Berlin”, which in hindsight was not a good choice given the political climate we’re in now.  Being the book subject was at the end of WW2, folks started comparing our new president to Hitler and all that is going on.  Tried to move back to the book, but some just won’t let go.

I was getting exasperated so I suggested folks watch the CNN Money piece about Beattyville, KY .

It ended and all went home.  On Friday folks started in again so I suggested again that they watch the video to try to comprehend why some poor white people would vote for Trump. The discussion went from bad to worse and I outed myself as voting for the Republican party because I am pro-life.  Then added my feeling of estrangement from that party because I am pro-environment, anti-gun, anti-big business, anti-capital punishment.  Don’t feel I belong anywhere.

The bottom line is that I won’t be going back to book club.  As I thought more of what I should have said – isn’t that always the way.  I’m not sharp-witted enough, I need to ponder.  The pondering brought me to the thought that all the conversation is on an intellectual level, not a personal one where you put yourself in the shoes of the poor white population.  What would I want?  How would I feel with the idea of no prospects?

I don’t know.  But I do feel their pain after living in Colfax and driving through Vevay or hundreds of other once-thriving communities who want it back the way it was.

 

Leave a Reply

Rita’s Bits of Life

Monthly blogs

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

