Bits of Life

Quilt gone… Toothache back

Posted on: December 1, 2014

Quilt top was fixed and back was cut, however it was too small!!  I should have cut the back first and made do with the leftovers for the borders.  I’ve learned my lesson.  And today was the day to take it to the quilter!  I had to make an instant decision – stop at JoAnn’s and hope they have wide fabric to pick up on the way down.

Why do customer service opportunities have to turn into a mess!  Turns out JoAnn’s had a black fabric 108″ wide.  Since I needed the piece to be at least 60X80, I figured that would work.  However, I was in such a state that my brain wouldn’t function to figure out how many yards I needed.  I turned to the young cutting clerk and explained my dilemma   To which she returned an absolute blank stare as if I was speaking in a language she could not comprehend. After a few seconds of staring at each other, I said.  You’re not helping here.  So I explained again and she looked equally bewildered.  She turned to a couple of her cutting mates who glanced our way.  I said to one, that I have a problem and she doesn’t know what to do.  The lady patted the young one on the shoulder and said It will be OK.  Meaning, my beginning to fume state was not something to worry about, I’m only an obnoxious customer.  I turned again to my inept cutter who said, I’m not good at math.

After drawing little pictures on a piece of paper, I was still not convinced how many yards I needed.  Finally I said, mark off 2 yards and let me see what that looks like.  She marked the yardage but kept her finger on the spot and I asked for a pin or something because I needed to pull it out and look at the 2 yards.  She still looked at me dumbfounded, so I began to pull apart the 2 yards and finally I could visualize it.  But the poor girl just kept apologizing while the other clerks happily cut yardages for other customers who knew how much they wanted.   I’ve been thinking about it all the way home and I am going to write to the manager.  Obviously the girl needed more training and the others needed to come to her aid, but no one did.  If she doesn’t know basic math in order to help a distraught customer, I think she belongs on the cash register where you don’t have to do any math at all.

Then my infected tooth is back.  So I got another round of antibiotics, but this time 500 mg instead of 250.  I hope this doesn’t wipe out my entire biotic system.  I bought yogurt as well.  Taking and replacing – crazy.

Now to start on Christmas projects.

Leave a Reply

Rita’s Bits of Life

Monthly blogs

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

