Bits of Life

Another Thursday has rolled in

Posted on: November 13, 2014

Thought I had written before, but I guess I had just “thought” about it.

For the past 2 days I’ve been suffering from a sore spot that hurts like crazy when I touch my cheek. Last night I had to take a couple of doses of aspirin and sit with a bag of frozen shredded Swiss cheese on my cheek. This will come into play a bit later. Since it didn’t hurt when I ate, and my neck glands were beginning to hurt, I thought it must be something other than my teeth. However, by this morning, I couldn’t wait to begin my search for what is wrong. Thinking I’d rule out the teeth issue if that were the case, I called my dentist bright and early and was overjoyed to hear a voice for I thought they were closed on Thursday. Well, they worked my in at 10, took 3 x-rays and informed me that the problem was indeed with my mouth. I have an infection of not only one tooth, but 2. Considering these teeth have both undergone root canals, I was surprised to see the little dark spots at the base of my roots. And that, boys and girls, is why there’s no pain associated with my teeth. They can’t feel anything. I was sent home with a prescription for Amoxicillin capsules which I have to take apart and pour the powder on apple sauce. Yes, a little bit of sugar makes the medicine go down!!

I get home with my swollen, tingly cheek, take my medicine and make a place for myself on the couch with computer, phone and tea close at hand. Of course the antibiotic doesn’t kick in immediately so I decide to try another course of aspirin for the pain and the frozen Swiss cheese. Not quite as good as peas, but it was a bit malleable. After turning the bag round and round to catch the coldest spot, I noticed the recipe for ham and Swiss Quiche on the wrapping. When I looked at it, I thought, I have all those ingredients save for substituting sausage and bacon for the ham. I ran to the kitchen to put together my dinner.

I ran the dishwasher and cleaned off the sink and am now settling down for another episode of Treme.

Maybe a little Amoxicillin is a wonder drug after all!!

Forgot to mention that the 2 teeth in question will be coming out on Dec 8.  The terrible part is that there is 1 good tooth between them.  So I don’t know what will happen when it’s left standing alone.

Be back with more of last week!

Leave a Reply

Rita’s Bits of Life

Monthly blogs

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

