Bits of Life

Golf memory akin to David and Goliath teams in NCAA

Posted on: March 23, 2013

Watching #2 Seed Georgetown playing catch-up with #15 Seed Florida Gulf Coast U reminded me of the day I played Dotty Mattich for the  Indian Lakes Country Club Tournament.  We played match play and after 9 holes she had me 1 -up.  I decided not to get too nervous but I kept trying to charge back, but she was playing like a woman possessed, par after par.  I had to shoot birdies to beat her.  being one down, I could not get ahead.

I wonder if I underestimated her, a little like some of the higher seeds underestimate the grit and goals of the lower seeds.  Being the underdog, one automatically feels there is nothing to lose and you play like men possessed.

I think G-town is going to lose.  And they did.

Leave a Reply

Rita’s Bits of Life

Monthly blogs

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

