Bits of Life

Food, Food, Food

Posted on: March 2, 2013

I realllllly need to keep account of what I eat.

Saturday March 2

Breakfast – 1 banana, 1 piece of gluten-free toast with 1 tsp peanut butter and real butter, sprinkle of cinnamon
2 cups of English Breakfast tea with 4 tsps of sugar!  I know I have to stop that!

Snacking – red globe grapes

Lunch – to be determined – I think a smoothie with kale, cucumber, celery, apple and who knows!! I added cottage cheese, yogurt and almond milk.  Beautiful color.

Dinner – Broccoli soup – just put it in the crockpot – Ingredients follow with my variations, which always happens since I don’t usually have the exact items.

-1 qt chicken broth (or vegetable)
–2 cups milk (I used 2% cow’s) (I USED COCONUT MILK – WAS PLANNING TO USE ALMOND MILK BUT IT HAS VANILLA IN IT.  I’LL USE IT FOR THE SMOOTHIE)
–2 10 oz bags of frozen broccoli florets (USED FRESH BROCCOLI)
–1/2 diced white onion
–1/2 t black pepper
–1/2 t kosher salt
–1/2 t ground nutmeg (fresh)
–1 cup each of three different cheeses, I used jarlsberg, gruyere, and cheddar. (USED WHAT I HAVE – SHREDDED MEXICAN CHEESE)
 I didn’t eat the soup for dinner.  Added potatoes and I’ll eat it today for lunch.   There will be lots to freeze.
It is delicious!!

Leave a Reply

Rita’s Bits of Life

Monthly blogs

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

