Bits of Life

Life’s Observations – My Life Can Be Like David Sedaris!

Posted on: June 6, 2012

6/5/12

I’m listening to David Sedaris and thinking what weird incidents he’s encountered  and then I think about today

I took my greeting cards to an independent gift store in hopes that she’d like them.  Turns out she wants to display them in her shop.  I was inwardly so thrilled while I thought they were good, that’s only my perspective.  So she hands me her card with email telling me to email her so she can send me the contract.  She said if she took my email, she’d immediately lose it.  I can certainly understand that, for pieces of paper are the bane of my existence.  However, when I found some scrabble letters I needed for a gift, she rang them up and asked if I wanted my receipt emailed to her to which she typed in my address on her computer. Not lost that way!  I wondered if she even noticed.  But then I’m often so tunnel focused that when looking back on events of my own, I think why didn’t I just type in her email…

I next stopped at Office Max to purchase clear labels for the backs of my greeting cards.  There were two packages, Avery and Office Max.  Avery clearly stated there were 25 sheets, 30 labels per sheet for an accumulated 750 labels.  The Office Max stated 750 labels with 30 per sheet.  So I asked the clerk how many sheets there were.  She counted them out and announced 25 sheets.  What was I supposed to do, some math!!

So I guess my life, if noted, could be as strange as David’s!

6/5/12

I’m listening to David Sedaris and thinking what weird incidents he’s encountered  and then I think about today

I took my greeting cards to an independent gift store in hopes that she’d like them.  Turns out she wants to display them in her shop.  I was inwardly so thrilled while I thought they were good, that’s only my perspective.  So she hands me her card with email telling me to email her so she can send me the contract.  She said if she took my email, she’d immediately lose it.  I can certainly understand that, for pieces of paper are the bane of my existence.  However, when I found some scrabble letters I needed for a gift, she rang them up and asked if I wanted my receipt emailed to her to which she typed in my address on her computer. Not lost that way!  I wondered if she even noticed.  But then I’m often so tunnel focused that when looking back on events of my own, I think why didn’t I just type in her email…

I next stopped at Office Max to purchase clear labels for the backs of my greeting cards.  There were two packages, Avery and Office Max.  Avery clearly stated there were 25 sheets, 30 labels per sheet for an accumulated 750 labels.  The Office Max stated 750 labels with 30 per sheet.  So I asked the clerk how many sheets there were.  She counted them out and announced 25 sheets.  What was I supposed to do, some math!!

So I guess my life, if noted, could be as strange as David’s!

Leave a Reply

Rita’s Bits of Life

Monthly blogs

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

