Bits of Life

Life Comes Full Circle

Posted on: January 7, 2011

Life Comes Full Circle

I looked out the window of my new apartment and realized my life had come full circle.  Without realizing its significance, I chose an apartment with a Catholic Church and a baseball field in my backyard.  Possibly only my brother and sister would understand.  For as long as I can remember and even before I was a twinkle in my mother’s eye, my father played baseball.  Therefore, my early life and until my mother passed away, baseball was ever present.  My dad played from grade school on into senior leagues, he coached my brother’s teams, which is another story, my brother played through college, my ex-husband played, my son’s played and my mother followed the Cubs with cult passion.  But it is the connection with my father I see as I look out the window. 

The ringing of the church bell at noon drew me to the window and to this Full Circle realization.  My mother was a fervent Catholic and my father’s lack of any type of faith probably consumed many hours on her rosary.  She dutifully took us to church on Sunday and we all learned the Catechism and the Mass in Latin.  The years before she passed away are marked with increased dedication.  She attended church every morning at 8 am. 

How do we come to these types of “coincidences”?

Leave a Reply

Rita’s Bits of Life

Monthly blogs

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

