Bits of Life

That’s life February 16, 2010

Posted on: February 17, 2010

Arkansas – wasn’t sure I was going to get here.  Sunday evening, I was too tired and with a storm coming in, I didn’t want to chance it in the dark.  Left Monday around 10 hoping to miss the impending blanket of 6-8″ of snow.  Getting out of Ohio was iffy.  I began to wonder if it was a good idea. Many single cars off the road in a ditch, one large RV type trailer behind a truck was in the ditch.  Didn’t appear anyone was hurt in any of them.   It was icy and windy and more snow was coming in.  Once past Richmond conditions improved and past Plainfield the snow had diminished considerably.   

I wrote a few notes as I sat in traffic slow down for vehicles off the road.  I’ll collect them from the car and add them here.  

Stayed overnight in St. Roberts near Ft. Leonard Wood.  It had been a long day.  

Uneventful trip into Fort Smith except for listening to Humpback whale song by Jodi Piccoult.  It is so very disjointed and I think full of errors.  She appears not to have done much research.  Poison ivy at Gila Bend Arizona??  Checking.  Checked and it appears that they do have poison ivy.  What a surprise. 

Got to McKenzie’s around noon and was greeted by everyone.  Lance is so big, Kately so pretty and Corban so adorable.  I got to hold him lots and I’ll add pictures.  

Went to La Fiesta for dinner to celebrate Lance’s 15th birthday.  We nearly had the place to ourselves.  Lance was serenaded and wore a gigantic sombrero for the occasion.  Lance received his 10 point buck head from his parents.  It is quite a majestic trophy.  It was a majestic animal. 

Katelyn and Lance introduced me to WII resort.  I cycled and canoed.  A good bit of exercise with both. 

Leave a Reply

Rita’s Bits of Life

Monthly blogs

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

